It isn't much of a secret that Michigan auto insurance can be a touchy subject to some. For most Michiganders, driving is a necessity to commute to work, running errands around town, carting your children to school, and for the long awaited family vacation. That is why it is so important to make sure our drivers and passengers are properly protected. As Michigan's no-fault reform law (Michigan Senate Bill 1 and House Bill 4397) begins to take effect, Top O' Michigan wants to keep you properly informed of the changes and how you can best protect yourself with these changes.
No-Fault Personal Injury Protection(PIP) and Liability Changes
Personal Injury Protection(PIP) Selection & Qualified Health Plans
Personal Injury Protection(PIP) for Motorcyclists
Our solution providers are available to help answer questions and will keep you up to date. You can easily find this information on our website, blogs, social media, personal contact and open forums planned in the near future.
Changes to Order of Priority (Currently in effect)
One major change is the order of priority and what makes this challenging is the effective date of June 11, 2019. Below are the changes made to Order of Priority:
Drivers will be able to select their level of No-Fault Personal Injury Protection (PIP) Coverage
If you are injured in an auto accident - regardless of fault - your own no-fault PIP coverage is what provides the medical insurance benefits. In Michigan, every vehicle owner is required to purchase PIP coverage. This provides unlimited lifetime coverage for medical treatment and rehabilitation expenses, lost wages for 3 years and up to $20 daily for personal assistance.
Under the new law, you will be able to choose between $50,000 (for those enrolled in Medicaid); $250,000; $500,000; or unlimited PIP coverage. Drivers with Medicare or another qualified health insurance plan may choose to opt-out of PIP Coverage.
Drivers may see auto insurance premiums go down due to PIP changes
The new legislation was primarily about reducing insurance costs. For auto policies effective after July 1, 2020, the new law will provide the following premium savings off your PIP premium:
Additional changes you should be aware of include:
Medical Provider Fee Schedule
This legislation will establish a “no-fault fee schedule.” A fee schedule normalizes the rates charged by doctors, hospitals, clinics, rehabilitation facilities, etc. – in this case for medical care associated with auto accidents. Prior to this legislation, this was used with other types of insurance including Workers Compensation, Medicare/Medicaid, Blue Cross Blue Shield, etc
Non-Driving Factors Used in Determining Rates
Under the new law, insurance companies will no longer be allowed to consider certain “non-driving factors” when setting insurance rates, which may lead to lower rates for some drivers. Some of these factors include home ownership, educational level, and occupation.
Prior to the new Michigan auto insurance reform, the maximum recovery limit was $1,000. Under the new law, drivers may sue another driver who is responsible for an accident for up to $3,000 in damage to their vehicle.
Michigan Catastrophic Claims Association ( MCCA) Fees
Drivers who elect less than unlimited PIP coverage will pay lower MCCA fees under the new law. The MCCA is a nonprofit association established in 1978 by the Michigan Legislature, which reimburses insurance companies or any auto-related medical claim costs over a threshold of $580,000. The MCCA fee is an annual per-insured-vehicle assessment used to fund the MCCA.
Increased Minimum Liability Limits and Suing for Excess Medical Benefits
The new legislation allows drivers to sue for excess medical costs and economic expenses beyond the no-fault PIP coverage they have chosen. Because of this change, drivers will also have new requirements when it comes to bodily injury liability insurance, which protects you in case you cause an accident and injure or kill someone.
Currently, drivers are required to have mandatory minimum limits of $20,000 for bodily injury or death per person, or $40,000 per accident. Under the new law:
We understand that insurance can be confusing and time consuming. This is why our solution providers are digging in to the details to keep you up-to-date. If you're interested in learning more on the Michigan No-Fault Reform, check out the links below:
514 N Ripley Blvd
Alpena, MI 49707
150 State St
Hillman, MI 49746
Local: (989) 742-4574
117 S State St
Oscoda, MI 48750
Local: (989) 739-1461
3183 Logan Valley Rd
Traverse City, MI 49684
Local: (231) 947-1164
607 S Morenci Ave
Mio, MI 48647
Local: (989) 826-3989
117 W Genesee St, Ste 1
Iron River, MI 49935
Local: (906) 265-5137
322 Bay St, Ste 1
Petoskey, MI 49770-4401
Local: (231) 347-4610
440 W Main St, Ste F
Gaylord, MI 49735-1401
Local: (989) 705-8664